You can create and modify employee access groups to determine what your employees can see and the features they can use within their Team Xpress apps.
This article will cover the following on Employee access groups in your Schedule Xpress:
Finding your Employee access groups
Employee access groups
Setting up a new Employee access group
Finding your Employee access groups
You can find your Employee access groups on Schedule Xpress, in Settings > Security > Employee access.
Let's look at setting up your Employee access group(s).
Your Employee access groups
Once inside Employee access, you'll be able to see and manage your Employee access groups. They be listed to the left side.
If you're creating more than one group, we'd highly encourage that you name them distinctly.
Let's look at how you can Clone existing Employee access groups.
Cloning (creating new) Employee access groups
You need to Clone an existing Employee access group in order to form a new one. We recommend choosing the most similar Employee access group, and cloning it.
Once you press Clone, you'll be prompted to rename the new Employee access group.
When you're happy with the new Name and Description, you can press Clone.
The new and cloned Employee access group will populate in your list, and you can make the necessary adjustments.
Deleting an Employee access group
To delete an Employee access group, select it in the list, and press Delete.
Note: Any employees who belonged to the deleted group will be moved into the default access group.
Defaulting an Employee access group
You can make an Employee access group your default Employee access group by selecting the star shape to the right of its name.
Note: This means that when you create a new Employee access group, all new employees accounts will be automatically placed into this group. This can be manually changed.
Once it's defaulted, the star will change to orange. Your default group will also move to the top of the list when you revisit your Employee access groups.
Changing the name of your Employee access group(s)
If you ever need to change the name of any of your Employee access groups, you can click the pencil located next to the name.
This will allow you to edit the Name and Description.
Setting up your Employee access group(s)
An Employee access group is broken into 5 different sections, as below.
The Customers, Sites, Services, Availability types and Contact details that the employee has access to
Task options and the shift details that are shown
The major functionality that is available in Team Xpress
Advanced Check In/Out Options
Actions and settings related to the Check-in, Check-out, and other ‘sliders’
The list of employees who are in this particular security group
Let's break down each section.
Records access (Records visibility and access)
Records access gives you the opportunity to choose the Customers, Sites, Services, Availability types and Contact details that the employee can view. Giving access to specific Contact details means you're giving employees permission to edit them from within the app.
Note: On your platform, you may use different labels for Customers, Sites and Services.
It's important to know that an employee only sees shifts that are selected in the list. For example, if you schedule an employee for a Customer/Site that is not selected in the list, they will be unable to view the shift in their Team Xpress app. This also affects the entry of Time sheets and Availability records.
If you don't have ALL selected, then you'll see a list of those that are selected.
You can define which can be viewed by selecting and unselecting within the dropdown form.
Shift Options (Shifts options and field visibility)
This section allows you to configure the options related to Shift Tasks, as well as selecting the fields that the employee sees when they look at their shifts on their Team Xpress Dashboard or Schedule.
You can also configure the shift details that employees will see within the shifts in their Team Xpress app.
Modules access (Modules visibility and managing access)
This Modules access section allows you choose the features you want your employees to have access to from within their Team Xpress app. These are:
For Availability, Time off, Timesheets and Time cards, you can set parameters to determine the level of access they have when using these features.
eClock features (Advanced check in/out options)
The eClock features section allows you to turn on/off check in/out slider, safety checks and breaks. If you choose to turn these features on, you can define the parameters as to when the slide bars will become available for them.
Let's break down each option in the first section.
Allow check-in to unscheduled shifts
Employees will be able to check in even if they do not have a shift on the schedule, or if they try to check in outside the time parameters described in the Check-in Early/Late settings. This is typically used for supervisors who may require the ability to 'create' their own shifts.
Allow check-in to multiple shifts simultaneously
Employees will be able to check in even if they already have a shift in progress. Normally employees can be checked into only one shift at a time.
Ignore Yesterday allows Check-in or Check-out of a shift on the same date as the shift only. This generally applies to companies who don't schedule overnight shifts.
Enable Check-out time limits
You need to select Enabled check-out limits to set parameters for when Check-in and Check-out sliders appear inside the shifts of employees' Team Xpress app. Continue below for more information on the setup.
Check-in settings for scheduled shifts
You can set parameters to define when the Check-in slider appears prior to a shift beginning, and after a shift begins in the employees' Team Xpress app. You can also choose whether the early or late check in will be recorded as the Scheduled time, Actual time or a Rounded time.
In the example below, the Check-in slider will appear 1 hour prior to the beginning of the shift, and will only pay the employee for the Scheduled time for an Early Check-in. Also, the Check-in slider will remain for 2 hours after the shift has started, and will only pay for the Actual time they perform a Late Check-in.
Note: If an employee attempts to Check-in outside of these parameters, the Check-in slider will NOT be available.
Check-out settings for scheduled shifts
You can set parameters to define when the Check-out slider appears before a shift ends, and after a shift ends in the employees' Team Xpress app. You can also choose whether the early or late check out will be recorded as the Scheduled time, Actual time or a Rounded time.
In the example below, the Check-out slider will appear 2 hours prior to the end of the shift, and will only pay the employee for the Actual time they perform an Early Check-out. Also, the Check-out slider will remain for 2 hours after the shift has started, and will only pay for the Scheduled time they perform a Late Check-out.
Note: If an employee attempts to Check-out outside of these parameters, the Check-out slider will NOT be available.
For Safety checks, you can set an interval that you would like them to be perform. For example, if you set a 1-hour interval as below, then an employee in this group will need to Slide to perform safety check ever 1-hour.
You can also choose to Record Safety check time to a Rounded time or the Actual time. If Rounded, you can choose Round to the nearest 5 min, 10 min, 15 min or 30 min.
For Record break, you can choose to record the Actual time or a Rounded time when an employee slides to start and end breaks in their Team Xpress app.
The Group members section shows all the employees who belong to this group.
If you're looking to find where employees are assigned an employee group, please follow to the next step.
Applying Security Groups to Employees
In Manage people, you can find the Employee group listed in the Settings section of an employee's profile.
If you want to change it, you can click Edit employee, and choose your option from the dropdown, and Save.
Or, you can bulk update multiple employees in the Manage people grid, by check marking the ones you want to change, and click Update employees.
Then, choose the Employee group in the Select fields to update.
To complete, choose the Employee group you want the employees to be moved to, and press Update employees.
For more information on Employee access groups, please Contact Support now!